Press Release – North Carolina Music Hall of Fame 2010 Inductions


For Immediate Release

North Carolina Music Hall of Fame 2010 Inductions

The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame has announced the names of this year’s inductees. The
ceremony will take place October 7 in Kannapolis.

Performing Artists

Maurice Williams, Recording artist, Charlotte
Andy Griffith, Gospel recording artist, Mt. Airy/Wilmington
Donna Fargo, Country recording artist, Mt. Airy
Arthur Smith, Country composer, performer, producer, Charlotte
George Hamilton IV, Country recording artist, Winston-Salem
Doc Watson, Country/Bluegrass vocalist, musician, Deep Gap/N. Wilkesboro
Curly Seckler, Bluegrass vocalist and musician, China Grove
Dr. Billy Taylor, jazz pianist, composer, Greenville
Shirley Caesar, Gospel recording artist, Durham

Performing Artist (Deceased)

Don Gibson, Country recording artist & composer, Shelby
Les Brown, Big Band leader, Durham
Oliver, (William Oliver Swofford), Recording artist, N. Wilkesboro

Non-Performing Artists

Don Schlitz, Composer, guitarist and soloist, Durham

The induction ceremony will be held Thursday, October 7, 2010 in the David H. Murdock Core Laboratory Building in Kannapolis, NC and will be open to the public. The evening will include a reception, dinner and induction ceremony with a variety of entertainment. Tickets go on sale September 1st at the museum.

For more information contact:

Eddie Ray
Operations Director/Vice Chair
704-932-2320  (Museum)
703-346-6241 (Mobile)

Bill Kopald
(336) 299-2520 (Office)
(336) 337-2521 (Mobile)